Nigeria Institute of Public Relations presents Special Awards to Prof Omenugha, Esimone, Others

The Nigeria Institute of Public Relations, Anambra State Chapter has conferred an Award of Excellence to distinguished Nigerians during its 2017 Reputation Summit and Inauguration of its 10th Executive members, held at Parktonia Hotel, Awka recently.

Speaking during the summit, the Executive Governor of Anambra State, Chief Dr. Willie M. Obiano represented by the Commissioner for Information and Communication Strategy, Chief Tony Nnacheta said that the institute is growing stronger in the State. He applauded the institute for choosing awardees that have distinguished themselves in their area of endeavors. He stated the Government’s readiness to partner with the institute in order to move the state to an enviable height.

Speaking on governance, Chief Nnacheta opined that it calls for service to humanity, which Governor Willie has displayed especially in the provision of Security, Agriculture and Infrastructures. He therefore beckoned on all to support the State Government through the payment of taxes, so that the State can compete favorably with other States.

Welcoming all, the Chairman of the occasion, Prof. Joseph E. Ahaneku, FAS, said he was delighted to be part of the epic making event. He commended the Institute on the choice of the theme for the summit, which he said was quite apt because it will inspire all to start doing things with their divinely given skills. He therefore enjoined all to positively apply the instrument they have in order to optimize talents through this platform.

Furthermore, Prof. Ahaneku noted that the institute is very important in the society because they can either make or mar any nation through its communication. He urged Journalists to always demonstrate their skills in such a way that will foster unity and oneness in the country. Finally, he said he was optimistic that the summit will give public relations personnel new ideas that will help to restructure and refocus the media for the betterment of the Nation.

The Guest Speaker at the Reputation Summit, Prof. Stella Okunna who spoke on the theme: “Doing Business in Nigeria in an Era of Recession: Problems and Prospects”, she started with the definition of Reputation which she said its an accumulation or aggregation of positive identity of goodwill of a person overtime.  Reputation, she said, is earned over-time and not bought or gotten through propaganda. According to her, for an entrepreneur to succeed, she enumerated  the following factors, knowing ones Strength and Weakness, looking out for Opportunities and Threat in the business and as well as its Time bound (SWOTT) to facilitate success.

Prof. Okunna spoke on the need to coordinate the affairs of Public Relations, so as not to mar the reputation of the institute and the country. She stated the need for a strategic communication for Nigeria to bounce back out of recession.

Speaking also, the National President and Chairman of Council of NIPR, Rotimi Oladele represented by the Chairman, Board of Fellows NIPR, Frank Tamunor Koko thanked the chapter for organizing the summit and their choice of theme. He said he was pleased to see students from two different institutions and implored the chapter to go to institutions in order to form the institute, for that is the only way they will have successors in future. He also commended the Chapter for their good work and prayed that they will continue to grow from strength to strength.

Earlier, the Chairman of NIPR, Anambra State Chapter, Lady Chinwe Nnedum (JP) specially welcomed and appreciated all for coming. The Summit, she said has lifted NIPR in the state to the next level. The Public Relation Practitioners Scheme is very important in any organization, which makes it known in the State.

In his remark, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Prof. Charles O. Esimone who spoke on behalf of the award recipients, thanked immensely the executive of NIPR. The Award, he said will spur them to do more in their areas of endeavors for the betterment of our country.

Among the Awardees were; the Catholic Bishop of Nnewi Diocese, Most Rev. Hilary Paul Odili Okeke, the Commissioner for Education, Prof. Kate Omenugha, Sen. Lady Uche Ekwunife (Iyom), Mr. Chuks Ochonogor, Dr. Anthony Obiora Chukwuka, Chief (Sir) Chikodi Anara, Chief Festinus T. C. Kamdikora (Nwachikunaka), Chief Onyeka Obi, Chigozie Chukwudi Okafor, and Chief Frank Sunny Okonkwo.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.